Embruns Trail

TAKE THE TIME TO...
Reconnect with nature… without ever leaving the city.
A hiking trail, right in the heart of Baie-Comeau!


The result of a citizen’s initiative and finished in 2019, the Embruns Trail is a sustainable development project and one of the region’s best-kept secrets: it doesn’t have to stay secret though, feel free to share the good news! 


This trail connects the Marquette and Mingan sectors (former cities of Baie-Comeau and Hauterive) as well as many other trail segments, including Pointe Saint-Gilles. There are bridges, walkways, and stairs for easy access, but you’ll still need to bring good hiking shoes and pack a large water bottle because it’ll take a toll on your energy level! 


Kilometres of Zen right in nature!


Spanning nearly 23 kilometres, the Embruns Trail borders the Manicouagan River as well as the St. Lawrence River up to the port area. It will keep you busy for a good part of the day. Some may even call a taxi to get back to their starting point. 


There are many lookouts and beach areas on the way. Stop and take a few photos or have a snack. What better way to relax than listening to the waves or walking barefoot during low tide? Zen guaranteed! 


Learn more about the Boreal forest. 


If you are curious or passionate about nature, the trails also include an educational component: interpretation panels to let you discover more about the wildlife and fauna found in the boreal forest. We’ve been told you can use these panels as an excuse to catch your breath on this moderate level trail… “Look! A panel! Let’s stop and read it.”


Important information: 


Before leaving, consult the trail map and make sure you have everything you need to get back before dark. 

Coordinates :

Acces:

  • avenue Donald-Smith

  • rue Amédée

BUREAU D'INFORMATION

TOURISTIQUE

20 avenue Cartier,

Baie-Comeau, QC

G4Z 0A2 

(418) 296-8178

  • Facebook
play blanc.png
pause blanc.png
reccord blanc.png
stop blanc.png

© 2020 par Tourisme Baie-Comeau. Réalisé par ImageXpert.

Sentier des Embruns

ON A LE TEMPS ....
de se reconnecter avec la nature… sans même quitter la ville.
Un sentier de randonnée pédestre, en plein cœur de Baie-Comeau!

Achevé en 2019 et né d’une initiative citoyenne dans une démarche de développement durable, le sentier des Embruns est l’un des secrets les mieux gardés de la région, mais on vous invite à propager la bonne nouvelle! 


Il relie les secteurs Marquette et Mingan (anciennes villes de Baie-Comeau et Hauterive) ainsi que plusieurs tronçons de sentiers, dont ceux de la pointe Saint-Gilles. On y trouve des ponts, passerelles et escaliers pour faciliter l’accès, mais il faut quand même prévoir de bons souliers de marche et une grande gourde d’eau, car on y dépensera beaucoup de calories!
 

Des kilomètres de zénitude en pleine nature!

S’étendant sur près de 23 kilomètres, le sentier des Embruns longe la rivière Manicouagan et le fleuve Saint-Laurent jusqu’à la zone portuaire. On en a pour une bonne partie de la journée. On pourrait même prévoir appeler un taxi à l’autre bout pour revenir à notre point de départ.


Plusieurs points d’observation et parcelles de plage s’étendent tout le long du chemin. On s’y arrête pour prendre des photos ou une collation.  Quoi de mieux pour se ressourcer que d’écouter le bruit des vagues ou marcher pieds nus à marée basse. Zénitude assurée! 

En apprendre plus sur la forêt boréale.

Si on est curieux ou passionné de nature, le parcours offre aussi un volet éducatif avec ses panneaux d’interprétation sur la faune et la flore de la forêt boréale. On ne le dira pas trop fort, mais on peut en profiter comme excuse pour reprendre son souffle dans ce sentier de difficulté modérée…«Tiens, un panneau! On s’arrête pour le lire?»

Informations pratiques

Avant de partir, on consulte la carte du sentier et on s’assure d’avoir tout ce qu’il faut pour rentrer avant la nuit.

Coordonnées :

Accès:

  • avenue Donald-Smith

  • rue Amédée

BUREAU D'INFORMATION

TOURISTIQUE

20 avenue Cartier,

Baie-Comeau, QC

G4Z 0A2 

(418) 296-8178

  • Facebook
play blanc.png
pause blanc.png
reccord blanc.png
stop blanc.png

© 2020 par Tourisme Baie-Comeau. Réalisé par ImageXpert.