1/1

Baie-Comeau’s History

TAKE THE TIME TO...
look back on our history! 
Colonel McCormick and Monseigneur Labrie or Baie-Comeau and Hauterive


In the 1910s, Colonel Robert Rutherford McCormick, owner of the Chicago Tribune (and later the New York Daily News), was a major American industrialist. Hoping to reduce production costs by building his own newsprint mill, he turned to the Manicouagan River timber reserves to supplement his supply. 

 

In 1937, after months of construction work, a city began to take shape: Baie-Comeau! By the end of the year, there were over a hundred houses, a church, and even a hotel… and of course, a paper mill!


At the end of World War II, the bells of the Sainte-Amélie Church announced the end of the war and, in April 1948, Monseigneur Napoléon-Alexandre Labrie founded the city of Hauterive, near the Amédée River. There, he built a hospital, a seminary, and established his diocese. A twin city was born!


Electricity and Aluminum: The Core of Economic Life


A few years later, the hydroelectric and aluminum industries found their way to the surrounding rivers and our deep-water port. 


Hydro-Québec began the construction of a series of new dams. “La Manic,” a now famous name, became attached to the Manicouagan region for generations to come. It inspired many, including Georges Dor. However, locals here are never bored!


In 1957, this new energy capacity attracted the attention of Canadian British Aluminum (CBA). It opened a plant (later known as the Reynolds Metals Company and then Alcoa) in Baie-Comeau and founded the Saint-Georges district, near the port. 


Brian Mulroney’s Birthplace


Baie-Comeau is also the birthplace of Canada’s 18th Prime Minister and one of the city’s most illustrious ambassadors, Brian Mulroney. Born in 1939, he is a member of one of the pioneer families that settled in Baie-Comeau in its early days. As a child, he even sang for Colonel McCormick. 


Today, this man is a respected figure honoured by many countries and prestigious institutions, a defender of humanitarian causes around the globe, and a source of pride for us all. There is a commemorative bust of him in his honour in front of City Hall. 

Forced Merger and Friendships


In 1982, Baie-Comeau merged with the neighbouring city, Hauterive. It was not without friction. Fortunately, after a few years of heated rivalry, a friendly rivalry developed and now serves as the basis of a few jokes between the locals of the Marquette (originally Baie-Comeau) and the Mingan (originally Hauterive) sectors, who now get along wonderfully! 


As we enter the 2020s, our city has a population of nearly 20,000 residents and is among the driving forces behind Côte-Nord’s economic activity. 


A Show to Celebrate Our History


To learn more about our history, come see the Baie-Comeau, d’aventure et de culture show in the summer. This magical and colourful musical evening featuring a variety of anecdotes about our unique and surprising history awaits you!
 

BUREAU D'INFORMATION

TOURISTIQUE

20 avenue Cartier,

Baie-Comeau, QC

G4Z 0A2 

(418) 296-8178

  • Facebook
play blanc.png
pause blanc.png
reccord blanc.png
stop blanc.png

© 2020 par Tourisme Baie-Comeau. Réalisé par ImageXpert.

1/1

Baie-Comeau et son histoire

ON A LE TEMPS ....
de faire un retour sur notre histoire ! 
Le colonel McCormick et le Mgr Labrie ou Baie-Comeau et Hauterive

Dans les années 1910, le colonel Robert Rutherford McCormick, propriétaire du Chicago Tribune (et plus tard du New York Daily News) est un important industriel américain. Souhaitant diminuer ses coûts de production en construisant sa propre usine de papier journal, il s’intéresse aux réserves de bois de la rivière Manicouagan pour compléter ses approvisionnements. 


En 1937, après des mois de chantier, une véritable ville prend forme : Baie-Comeau!  À la fin de l’année, on y compte déjà plus d’une centaine de maisons, une église, même un hôtel… et bien sûr : une usine à papier!


À la fin de la 2e guerre mondiale, les cloches de l’église Sainte-Amélie annoncent la fin de la guerre et Monseigneur Napoléon-Alexandre Labrie, fonde, en avril 1948, la ville d’Hauterive à proximité de la rivière Amédée. Il y construit un hôpital, un séminaire et y installe son évêché. Une ville jumelle est née!

Électricité et aluminium au cœur de vie économique


Quelques années plus tard, les industries de l’hydroélectricité et de l’aluminium trouvent aussi leur compte auprès des rivières environnantes et de notre port en eaux profondes. 


Hydro-Québec démarre la construction d’une série de nouveaux barrages… La désormais célèbre appellation «La Manic» collera à la région de la Manicouagan pour les générations à venir. Elle ne manquera pas d’en inspirer plusieurs, dont Georges Dor…quoique nous, habitants de la région, on ne s’y ennuie pas du tout! 


En 1957, les nouvelles capacités énergétiques attirent la Canadian British Aluminium. Elle y ouvre une usine (plus tard connu sous le nom de Société canadienne des métaux  Reynolds puis d’Alcoa) à Baie-Comeau et y fonde le quartier Saint-Georges, à proximité du port.

​Berceau de Brian Mulroney


Baie-Comeau est également la ville natale du 18e Premier ministre du Canada et l’un des plus illustres ambassadeurs de la ville, Brian Mulroney. Né en 1939, il compte parmi les familles pionnières qui se sont établies à Baie-Comeau à ses tout débuts. Durant son enfance, il chante même pour le colonel McCormick.


Aujourd’hui un grand homme et une personnalité honorée par plusieurs pays et de prestigieuses institutions, défenseur de plusieurs causes humanitaires à travers le monde, il est une source de fierté pour nous tous. On trouve d’ailleurs un buste à son effigie, face à l’hôtel de ville. 

 
​Fusion forcée et amitiés


En 1982, Baie-Comeau fusionne avec sa ville voisine, Hauterive. Ce n’est pas sans frictions, mais heureusement, malgré une rivalité amicale qui sert de prétexte à quelques plaisanteries, nous, les habitants des secteurs Marquette (Baie-Comeau originale) et Mingan (Hauterive) nous entendons aujourd’hui à merveille!  


À l’aube des années 2020, notre ville compte près de 20 000 chaleureux habitants et est parmi les fers de lance de l’activité économique de la Côte-Nord. 

​Un spectacle pour célébrer notre passé


Pour en apprendre plus sur notre passé, on vous propose en été le spectacle à grand déploiement Baie-Comeau, d’aventure et de culture. Il relate une foule d’anecdotes liées à notre histoire unique et surprenante. Une soirée musicale magique et haute en couleur nous y attend !

BUREAU D'INFORMATION

TOURISTIQUE

20 avenue Cartier,

Baie-Comeau, QC

G4Z 0A2 

(418) 296-8178

  • Facebook
play blanc.png
pause blanc.png
reccord blanc.png
stop blanc.png

© 2020 par Tourisme Baie-Comeau. Réalisé par ImageXpert.